December – Flash Fiction Challenge

We challenged our group members to write their best response to a writing prompt: she pulled the knife from her chest and said, “was that supposed to hurt?”

Our winner is Kelly Clendenning.

Kelly is a mother of a feisty two-year-old and married to a wonderful gamer husband. She has a business blog about compassionate leadership at thewayofaleader.wordpress.com. She writes fiction, non-fiction, and poetry in her spare time.

Her winning flash fiction entry:

I stared at the woman; no, the creature, in horror. Months of careful planning. Hours of preparation were for naught.

I watched as Rachel, presuming that was even real, caressed the knife, her eyes for a split second showed something of regret. It was gone in the next breath and replaced with something far more feral.

Words failed me. Breathing came in painful wheezes and my heart was surely heard by the neighbors next door.

“So it seems to me we have a predicament,” she continued.

I stood transfixed, unable to utter the scream lodged in my throat. She was getting closer now.

“I liked you. Well above the others. But I can’t exactly have you run around trying to kill me. Bad for my image.”

I took an involuntary step back as she was within arms reach. Nowhere to go. Nowhere to hide. My back hit the door and I whimpered. Fear finally voiced.

She leaned close to me, her whisper colder than the absence of her heart, “And here you thought I was simply your plaything. I thought you loved me. I suppose we were both wrong”.

Steel flashed with a biting pain and darkness.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

